The Davao City Duty Free Shops

12Nov07

Duty Free Shops in Davao City

Another Duty Free Shops in Davao
Duty Free Shop at the Davao International Airport parking area.

There are 3 Duty Free Shops in Mindanao and all are in Davao City’s International Airport (D.I.A.). One is located in the airport’s departure area, the other one is in the arrival area while the last one is outside the airport building along the parking area.

So…. Whats all the buzz about Duty Free Shops?

Well its sort of a status symbol because Duty Free Shops can only be found in International Gateways meaning an airport or seaport that caters international flights or sails. As far as I know, there are 4 International Gateways with Duty Free Shops in the Philippines. Each representing their respective turfs…. and these are:

NCR – Duty Free Manila
Luzon – Duty Free Subic
Visayas – Duty Free Cebu
Mindanao – Duty Free Davao

Duty Free Shops sells international brand of products and they do not apply local or national taxes. They must be located within international zone like the Davao International Airport.

Tax rule says that a buyer can buy goods sold in Duty Free Shops without paying taxes as long as the buyer will import the goods to the place where he travels. He must also be within the place called Duty-free allowance.

Its good that Duty Free Shops is back in Davao for the third time. It goes to show that Davao City’s economy is growing. In the past, Duty Free Shops pulled out from Davao back in 1998 and then again in 2000.



30 Responses to “The Davao City Duty Free Shops”

  1. Nice site, very informative. My GF and I are thinking of moving to Davao, and this is one of the sites I’ve visited to help me make my decision. More power!!!

  2. And you wont regret if you decide to live here…. this is the most livable city in the Philippines according to Asiaweek Magazine.

    Anyway, thnx for visiting my blog…. hope you always drop by to see what’s new in Davao.🙂

  3. 3 Ronilyn Tapao

    wow,,,so duty free shops is also the only thing which can prove that Davao city is now improving more and more and aside from it it also help our economy rises…Nice blog sir!!!!!!Keep it up…

  4. 4 carlo canopin

    wow,,,so duty free shops is also the only thing which can prove that Davao city is now improving more and more and aside from it it also help our economy rises…Nice blog sir!!!!!!Keep it up…

  5. Please oh please keep writing! Your articles are wonderful!

  6. 6 RONILYN TAPAO

    SIR, OA NA LAGI ANG IMONG BLOG DILE NA SYA NICE DAAN NA MAN GUD!^_6

  7. hello nickilo! pls join us at http://fsprincipe.qassia.com and be surprised hehehe…

  8. 8 jdicen

    Dear Nickilo,

    Greetings. Your blog is wonderful. I found you through the link in my blog. I would like to ask if you can teach me some tricks with WordPress– like the ads you put in your blog. I am new to blogging. My email is jdicen@gmail.com. I am from Davao City.

    Thank you in advance. Best regards. JDicen

  9. 9 jerilou

    helo po I just want to ask if you some job opportunity?

  10. 10 nickilo

    hehehe….
    what job you are looking for?

  11. 11 ladyvhee

    its nice to be back the duty free in davao

  12. 12 collin palubon

    im asking what time will the shop open?? thanks!

  13. 13 Reymondkix

    Pwede bang magshopping s duty free kahit di k galing s byahe?

  14. itanong ko lang kung anong oras ang business hour ninyo at kung open kayo sa december 25, salamat po

  15. merry christmas po ask lang po ako what time is your closing time? and Dec 25 po ba open kayo?

  16. 16 Anonymous

    meron ba kayong branch na duty free d2 sa davao?

  17. meron ba kayong branch d2 sa downtown na duty free?

  18. 18 ayen

    hello..can somebody answer me if duty free davao still operates? il be arriving davao on jan 2012 and plan to buy some wine for my family..

  19. gud day ask lang ako kung acceptable ang international chain dito sa duty free…ang ate ko kase nasa u.s. then gusto nya mag shop kami sa duty free,,pero sa kanya ang charges naka base sya ngayon sa florida..pls,,reply po taga admin..taga davao po ako..thanks

  20. If you want to obtain much from this post then you have to apply such techniques to your won weblog.

  21. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web
    site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright
    clear concept

  22. 22 villar valentin p.

    Uponn arrival at Davao City int’l Airport, ilang oras/days bago ma expired ung gatepass mo pagpasok s Duty Free. bco’z i had been experciend before that u can only avail within 24 hrs upon arrival or else forfeited. ur reply is much appreciated. tnx.

  23. 23 shella macatangay

    ano po ang closing time ng duty free sa Davao kapag weekdays???

  24. Hello, its good paragraph about media print, we all know media is
    a enormous source of data.

  25. I think this is among the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really excellent :
    D. Good job, cheers

  26. 26 RL

    I will be flying into Manila late night, then into Davao from Manila the very next day. I was wondering if I can buy duty-free items for my wife’s family at the Davao duty free upon arrival into Davao, or should I buy these in Manila and carry them with me to Davao? I am concerned about the liquid carrying restrictions, of course.

  27. Yes! Finally something about wedding dress sample sale.

  28. 28 shiela

    hi I’m going to fly on last week of May in the Philippines with my British Husband,From here in Oman to Manila ,Manila to Davao,I wanna buy some imported Liqour in Duty free Davao,like Smirnoff Vodca and Jack Daniel Wisky,I wanna ask also If how much there each,and how many a Bottles of Liqour is allowed pls Reply ASAP .its me Shiela

  29. 29 Irene

    Hi, is it open around 6am? Thanks

  30. 30 Anonymous

    Just a query on how many days can a balik bayan avail of your promo after arrival


Leave a Reply

